Oyinlade for being the definition of love

It was just a couple of weeks after I officially resumed work at my PPA (place of primary assignment), I met Muhammed; a very nice young man who knew almost every single one of my seniors back in school and even my cousin! We got along pretty well in no time due to our common interests and we often talked about music production and Information technology which happened to be his area of specialization. Anyway he isn’t the person I am shinning the spot light on today so let me cut to the chase.

I had on one of our discussions requested that he hooked me up with a beat making software and so he asked that I followed him to his office to pick a software of my choice. On getting there, there was this young beautiful lady who sat directly opposite him. Since we were thought to respect our elders and greet them, I went “Good morning ma” and she looked at me with a seriously straight face and replied “Good morning” and facing her computer, quickly returned to what she was doing. Muhammed interjecting says “is it Oyinlade you are using “Ma” for?” and giving me a stern look Oyinlade reiterates “am I too small to answer ma?” I quickly responded No ma!”

A few days passed and I began to spend more time in Oyinlade’s office even more than where I was originally posted, and Oyinlade became so much the elder sister I never had. She said it was fine to call her by her name “Oyinlade”. We got along so well and she became someone I look up to. Just like our very own dear Uncle Mayor, she would share her own personal experiences with me and draw out lessons from them. I became fond of her which of course is for the same reasons I have always wished I had an elder sister (have someone I can disturb and look for their trouble who wouldn’t take it the wrong way at my disposal), I usually made sure I marked register with her every morning. And of course severally she would give me that “…but I wasn’t the one that gave birth to you” look. Of course that was none of my business. I had achieved my aim.

1 Corinthians 13:4-7 gives us the characteristics of love; Love is patient, does not envy, does not boast, isn’t proud, doesn’t dishonor others, isn’t self-seeking, is not easily angered, keeps no record of wrongs, doesn’t delight in evil, rejoices in truth, always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Well in the little period of almost a year I have known Oyinlade, I think it is safe to say she exhibits all of these characteristics. And what strikes me the most is her selfless nature. She wouldn’t buy herself anything edible without asking if anyone had an interest so she can buy yours. All the time I was broke she bought me food constantly, showed me empathy when I failed my ICAN exams and really encouraged me when I had to take it again. I didn’t get to drive your car because I never asked “Oyinoyin” as I liked to fondly call her. For the guys already tripping, she’s taken, her wedding comes up in a few days! LOL!!!

Oyinlade, it’s never goodbye, where ever life takes you; be it a quarter mile away or half way across the world, you’re always with me, and you will always be my sister! See you later, I would really miss you *hugs from afar*

 

Leave a comment